Work, Lilja 4-ever and antinatalism

[Author’s note: Nihilistic and depressing. I don’t endorse the opinions in this post. Also, some content may or may not be fictional.]

Yesterday was probably the most depressing day in months. What happened? Did a close relative die? Has my girlfriend left me? Did I lose my job? No, I don’t even have a job or a girlfriend. Actually, I was just looking for internships. Why was that so dreadful? Cause I felt like a slave, who has to beg to be tortured for several monthsYou have to suck up to zombiefied HR-drones to let you work for them unpaid. This is killing me. My future looks bleak. I don’t have a job but I already feel terrible just thinking about having to work. Well, whatever, I won’t have to work for at least 3 years, and until then I should have discovered some drug that makes being a corporate slave bearable – P-Zombax (HT Muflax).

Anyhow, in order to brighten up my mood I decided to watch Lilja 4-ever (read the plot or description on Wikipedia, I don’t want to be directly responsible for your suicide). Great idea. This was definitely the most depressing, soul-crushing movie I’ve ever watched. And I’ve seen movies like Happiness or Requiem for a Dream. After less than 10 minutes of Lilja 4-ever I cried like a baby. This movie is littered with pointless suffering, sadistic cruelty and black despair. But it get’s worse.

Lilya 4-ever is allegedly based on a true story. How sick is that? And then it dawned on me: There are probably thousands of innocent girls who have suffered similar experiences! (Funny anecdote: The director said, only his strong Christian faith allowed him to make this movie. Great. I’m afraid this option isn’t available to me.) And here comes antinatalism (=eliminating all life-forms is morally good) into play. How many people would have to lead happy lives to make up for the unimaginable suffering of this one little girl? Something like one million? And they should better be really, really happy, I mean pathologically euphoric. Wouldn’t it be easier and more realistic to just end this tragedy here and now? Take a close look at our lovely planet. Would blowing this gigantic lump of misery into pieces really be that bad? Sure, as a last resort there is the singularity, FAI, transhumanism and all that. My kind of faith. Albeit not strong, I’m afraid.

This entry was posted in antinatalism, Personal, whiny existentialism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

